Iced Coffee

Standard

Everyone can call me crazy, but I am not a fan of the famous “S” coffee establishment.  I am a NW Indiana girl, and grew up with DD my whole life.  To me there is no better coffee out there for the money.  Now I know a lot of you will protest, but for me “S” is way too strong.  I always see people with iced coffee from the big chain coffee places, but I have never really tried on since I do not like cold beverages.  But once the temperatures started rising I knew I may have to explore my iced coffee options.  I do not buy coffee out very much at all since getting my Keuring, so I knew it was going to be a struggle to find a coffee I liked.  Then, I saw this recipe and knew I could make this! Let me tell you, I have shared the iced coffee with several people and they say it is the best they have ever had.  The best part is you can make it in all flavors.  I made this batch with coconut-almond coffee and it definitely gives me a tropical feel on these warm days.  Try it and you will never go through the drive thru again.

Iced Coffee

from  The Pioneer Woman Cooks

Ingredients

1 pound Ground Coffee ( I used coconut-almond flavored)

8 quarts Cold Water

Half-and-half (healthy Splash Per Serving)

Sweetened Condensed Milk (2-3 Tablespoons Per Serving)

Note: Can Use Skim Milk, 2% Milk, Whole Milk, Sugar, Artificial Sweeteners, Syrups…adapt To Your Liking!

Directions:

To make iced coffee concentrate:

In a large container, mix ground coffee with water. Cover and allow to sit at room temperature eight hours or overnight.

Line a fine mesh strainer with cheesecloth and set over a pitcher or other container. Pour coffee/water mixture through the strainer, allowing all liquid to run through. Discard grounds.

Place coffee liquid in the fridge and allow to cool. Use as needed.

To make iced coffee:

Pack a glass full of ice cubes. Fill glass 2/3 full with coffee liquid. Add healthy splash of half-and-half. Add 2-3 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk (can use plain sugar instead) and stir to combine. Taste and adjust half-and-half and/or sweetened condensed milk as needed.

Leave a Reply

