Mexican Pizza

Standard

I remember when I wanted something sinful as a child my mom would take me to Taco Bell and get me a mexican pizza and an order of cinnamon twists.  The pizzas were crunchy and cheesy, but had a delicious creamy bean layer.  Boy how my tastes have changed.  Now do not get me wrong, I would still love to have one of those mexican pizzas, but part of me is afraid every good memory I have of them would be wiped out.  Well to say the least I was craving a taco bell run, but instead I decided to not make a run for the border.  These were perfect for my hubby and I, since we could each make our own variations.  Both of us started with the same base of meat and beans, but the second topping was a free for all as you can tell by the picture.  My hubby loves his olives and I love my tomatoes, which made it so great for us to each have our own.  So everyone go crazy with the toppings and make this pizza your own memory, just like I did.

 

Mexican Pizza

adapted from For the Love of Cooking

Ground Beef Mixture:
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 lb of lean ground beef
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion, diced
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • grey salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste
  • 1 4 oz can of diced fire roasted green chiles
Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the ground beef and break the meat into crumbles. Add the onion as well as the seasonings then cook for 4-5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the green chiles then stir until well combined. Set aside.
Other Ingredients:
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Black Refried Beans
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Salsa
  • Tomato, diced
  • Avocado, diced
  • Green onions, diced
  • Fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Sour Cream (optional)
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with a silpat mat. Layer a flour tortilla with refried beans then place on baking sheet; add a bit of the beef mixture then top with another tortilla.
Bake in the oven for 10 minutes; remove from oven and spoon a bit of salsa on top of the top tortilla then top with cheese. Return to the oven and cook for an additional 5-7 minutes or until the cheese is melted. Remove from the oven and top with the toppings of your choice from the list above. Serve with more salsa and sour cream. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

