Calzone for Two

Standard

After a fun weekend of traveling to Chicago for a Cubs game, I was trying to think of something simple to make for dinner.  I had a craving for pizza, but did not want take out or frozen, but also did not feel like making homemade dough.  Then it hit me, a calzone would be great!  I remember being a little girl, shopping with my mother and begging her to stop at Sbarro.  I absolutely loved their spinach calzone and a garlic knot.  What if i could combine the calzone and garlic knot?   That is exactly what I set out to do.  My hubby’s favorite toppings are pepperoni and sausage so I decided to use that for a filling.  I used a refrigerated pizza dough and spread it out to a really thin layer.  It worked wonderful to stuff with the fillings I chose.  The outcome was a delicious, cheesy, and comforting dinner.

 

Calzone for Two

1/2 lb of Italian Sausage

1/2 package of turkey pepperoni

8 oz can of mushrooms

1 1/2 cups of mozzarella blend cheese

3 Tbs grated parmesan cheese

1 tube refrigerated pizza dough

2 Tbs cornmeal

1 jar tomato sauce with basil

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Brown the sausage and drain.  Roll out the dough very thin.  Spray non stick cooking spray on a cooking sheet and dust with cornmeal.  Place the dough on the baking sheet.  Layer the cheese, sausage, cheese, and pepperoni until all is used up.  Place 1/4 cup of the tomato sauce over the filling.  Fold the dough over on itself.  Crimp the edges closed with a fork.  Spray the top with non stick cooking spray and sprinkle with the parmesan cheese.  Bake for 14-16 minutes.  Split the remaining tomato sauce between two ramekins and warm in the microwave for 1 minute.  Cut and enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

