Thin Mint Mini Cheesecakes

Standard

I think everyone remembers as a child the mini cheesecakes with fruit on top of them.  But, then we grow up and realize the glob of fruit on top of the cheesecakes are pie filling.   I was so deflated when I realized it was not real fruit.  Do not get me wrong though, I am sure plenty of people put real fruit on top that was just not my experience.  Then one day while over at my in-laws, my mother-in-law made Oreo mini cheesecakes and told me there were so many variations on the recipe.  As soon as she said thin mints my ears perked up.  I mean who was not a girl scout and had to sell those delicious cookies.  It not being girl scout cookie season and all, I pondered how I was going to make these.  Then I remembered a friend of mine told me that Keebler makes cookies similar to thin mints and samoas.  I went and found them and they were almost identical just smaller.  These cookies worked great as the base for the cheesecakes.  I also put a  pan filled with water on the bottom shelf of the oven to help prevent the cheesecake from cracking.  The recipe is a melding of several recipes, so make it your own as well!

Thin Mint Mini Cheesecakes

12 Thin Mint cookies or other store brand

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (one small container)

16 ounces cream cheese at room temperature

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips melted

2 large eggs, at room temperature

1/2 teaspoon pure peppermint extract

1/4 cup sugar

pinch of salt

Directions:

Heat oven to 275 degrees and place a pan with water in the lowest rack of the oven. Line a muffin tin with paper liners.  In the bowl of a stand mixer with paddle attachment beat the cream cheese, yogurt, and melted chocolate on 3-4 speed for 2 minutes.  Add sugar and the pinch of salt, mixing for 1 more minute.  Add peppermint extract, beating for 30 seconds.  Put one egg in at a time, until both are incorporated.  Use an ice cream scoop and divide evenly between the 12 liners.  There will be a small amount left in the bowl.  Smooth the op of each cheesecake before putting in the oven.  Bake in oven for 25 minutes, rotating half way through.  Chill in refrigerator overnight. Enjoy!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

