Homemade Hamburger Buns

Standard

I am always that person running frantically through the bakery section wondering should I get ciabatta, kaiser, or onion rolls for grilling out tonight.  I always end up getting 2 different kinds and then try to figure out what to do with the ones I do not use.  Believe me there are only so many breadcrumbs one person needs!  Then when I was looking through several blogs last weekend I noticed a common theme, homemade hamburger buns.  I thought how perfect! I can make my own buns and not worry about looking like a crazy woman running through the bakery section anymore.  Let me tell you, I was so surprised when I made these.  I could not believe the wonderful consistency and crust on each of the buns.  I also loved baking them on my Silpat, which made them easy to remove and cool.  Last night we really wanted pork burgers and I thought what a perfect time to try out my homemade buns.  They were truly amazing toasted on the grill.  My hubby and I ate all of the bun which we rarely do, since most are so dense.  My next endeavor will be hot dog buns, since these were so delicious!

In other exciting news, my hubby started making me a light box for the blog last night:)  It is definitely a work in progress as we decide the best lighting and also what the best backgrounds.  But, I am so excited that he made it for me and that he is supporting me so much in my blogging.  Look for the pictures to begin evolving since we both taking an active role in the photographing.

 

Homemade Hamburger Buns

from  Annie’s Eats

3 tbsp. warm milk
1 cup warm water
2 tsp. instant yeast
2½ tbsp. sugar
1½ tsp. salt
1 large egg
3 cups bread flour
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2½ tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

For topping:
1 large egg beaten with 1 tbsp. water, for egg wash
Sesame seeds

Directions:
In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the milk, water, yeast, sugar, salt and egg.  Mix briefly to combine.  Add the flours to the bowl, and mix until incorporated.  Mix in the butter.  Switch to the dough hook and knead on low speed for about 6-8 minutes.  The dough will be somewhat tacky, but you want to avoid adding too much extra flour which will create tough buns.

Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in bulk, 1-2 hours.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.  Using a dough scraper, divide the dough into 8 equal parts.  Gently roll each portion of dough into a ball and place on the baking sheet, 2-3 inches apart.  Cover loosely with lightly oiled plastic wrap and let rise again, 1-2 hours, until puffed up and nearly doubled.

Set a large metal pan of water on the lowest rack of the oven.  Preheat the oven to 400˚ F with a rack in the center.  Brush the tops of the buns lightly with the egg wash and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Bake the buns about 15 minutes rotating halfway through baking, until the tops are golden brown.  Transfer to a rack to cool completely.

 

Leave a Reply

