Buffalo Chicken Pizza

Standard

In our house no matter what type of get together we are throwing I have to make my Buffalo Chicken Dip. Now I know you are thinking you have had that a million times, and albeit good it is just a throw together mush of ingredients. Mine is not like others at all. My dip has substance, levels of flavor, and melted cheese goodness. No I am not sharing that recipe with you today as you can tell by the title, instead I am showing you how I adapted it.

I ended up having two lonely chicken breasts in our chest freezer crying put to be eaten this week. I decided to defrost them and figure out later what to do with them. Then it hit me yesterday, poach them! Poaching is my favorite technique for chicken breasts I am going to shred or cube. There are so many ways to impart different flavors through poaching. In this case it was: water, chicken broth, hot sauce, granulated garlic, and red pepper flakes. Then it was time to make my dip in pizza form. What a delicious substitute for dip.

Buffalo Chicken Pizza

a Hilary original

2 chicken breast

3 Tbs hot sauce

5 cups water

2 cups chicken broth

1 Tbs granulated garlic

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1 store bought thin pizza crust ( or you can make your own)

1/3 cup fat free blue cheese dressing

1/4 cup buffalo wing sauce

3 Tbs margarine

2 cups of colby jack shredded cheese

Combine all of the ingredients up to red pepper flakes in a large pot over medium high heat. Bring to boil, and reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes. Take chicken out and sicard poaching liquid. Once chicken is cooled, shred and set aside in microwave safe bowl.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Combine the buffalo wing sauce and margarine with the chicken and microwave for 1 minute, stir and repeat for one more minute. Put crust in ovem for 2 minutes. Remove and spred thr blue cheese on, then top with shredded chicken mixture. Sprinkle the cheese ober the top, and place back in the oven for 8 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes befor cutting. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. #1. That’s a pretty clean oven :0).
    #2. This sounds yummy and easy…and I’ll get it all to myself since the hubby won’t go near blue cheese :0)

Leave a Reply

