Pork Potstickers and Dipping Sauce

Standard

First, I am so excited to share with you my first iteration of my burger for Sutter Home’s Build a Better Burger Contest.  I am only going to share a picture and how each try goes until I submit the recipe.  This is only because it will change so many times over the next couple weeks I am sure!!! I was like a kid in a candy store just now shopping for the ingredients.

Second, on Wednesday the weather was so horrible all day outside. But , my hubby and I decided to go to see the midnight showing of Hangover II since we did not want to stay in all day and night.  I have never felt so old in my life watching all the teenagers at the movies! But, the movie was definitely worth braving the elements.  Waking up for work the next day was such a challenge, since I only had two hours of sleep.  I decided to cook a simple potsticker appetizer and make Trader Joe’s Orange chicken.  I never got to make the Orange Chicken since we both were so exhausted and fell asleep.  Having said that, I am so happy I made these potstickers for our dinner.   They were just like something you would get in a great restaurant, but much healthier.  This was my first attempt at potstickers, and that being said I will definitely be trying variations.

Pork Potstickers and Dipping Sauce

both from Confections of a Foodie Bride

1/2 lb ground pork
1 Tbsp sesame oil
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1/3 cup chives
2/3 cup green onions
1 cup Napa cabbage, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
Wonton wrappers (about 30)
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 recipe Orange Sesame dipping sauce, for serving (follows)

Cook the ground pork over medium heat until done. Add the remaining ingredients (through garlic) and cook until the greens are wilted nicely. Let mixture cool just a bit and add it to the bowl of a food processor. Process the filling until it reaches the desired consistency.

Lay a wrapper on a flat, dry surface put a Tbsp of mixture in the middle. Using your fingers or a pastry brush (save the dirty-dish sink space – use your fingers), wet the wonton wrapper surrounding the filling and fold the dumpling, pressing the seams together: bring two opposite corners to the center, bring the remaining corners to the center one at a time and press tightly( I made little fans out of them as you can tell from the picture they sealed very well).

Add oil to a skillet (a clean skillet) and add dumplings. Add 1/3 cup water to the pan and cover tightly. Remove from heat when the dumplings are golden brown on one side (about 4 minutes).


Orange Sesame dipping sauce (measurements are approximate)
1 tsp sesame oil
2 Tbsp lite soy sauce
2 Tbsp chives
1 small clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp sugar
2 Tbsp orange juice

Whisk together all ingredients, adjust seasoning to taste.

 

Leave a Reply

