Wine Infused Spaghetti Sauce

Standard

So when I knew I would be starting my new job today, I knew that I would want a comfort meal. Whenever I think comfort food, one of the first thing that comes to mind is my Baba’s (grandmother) Italian sauce. Since we have devoured every little bit she has sent down lately, I decided to throw together an interesting sauce. I had to sneak a little wine in it as my sort of excuse to have some yummy wine tonight. Today’s new fresh start definitely warrants some yummy celebratory wine and food. I have to say I thoroughly enjoy my new job, and look forward to creating yummy dishes to blog about each day:)

Wine Infused Spaghetti Sauce

a Hilary original

1/2 pound ground sirloin
3 Tbs minced garlic
1/4 Tbs dried oregano
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
2 cups crushed tomatoes with basil
2 Tbs tomato paste
1/2 tsp gray sea salt, fine
1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper
1/4 cup chicken stock
3/4 cups red wine ( I used a Cabernet Franc)
1/8 cup heavy cream
3 Tbs splenda
1 box whole wheat penne pasta

Brown meat in a large high-sided skillet over medium-high heat.  Turn and break up the meat until it has started to brown and is no longer pink.  Add in premeasured garlic, red pepper flakes, oregano, and tomato paste and cook until all meat is coated.  It may be necessary to add more tomato paste ( I added a little over 3 Tbs).  Then add the first 1/2 cup of wine and let cook for 2-3 minutes.  Then add the crushed tomatoes, splenda, chicken stock, salt, and pepper.  Bring to a boil and then simmer uncovered for 15 minutes stirring occasionally.  Then add the remaining 1/4 cup of wine and heavy cream, letting the sauce simmer for 8 minutes.  Once the pasta has boiled, add a ladle of starchy pasta liquid to the sauce to tie everything together.  Serve sauce over pasta and garnish with favorite cheese.

Leave a Reply

